Why KendoUI (and maybe why not!)


Briefly, I’ve chosen KendoUI because:

  1. The quality of their emitted HTML code (fast and supporting different browsers).
  2. Being able to move to payable version and get support.

I like from KendoUI

  1. GPL v3 (one of the versions)
  2. The widgets:
    1. Are visually nice (to me)
    2. And are visually consistent (most of the times).
  3. Responsiveness of the HTML emitted code.
  4. Documentation (Ok! there are a lot of complains about the lack of documentation not having every function, event, option documented and I totally agree BUT if we compare with most freely available software there is a lot of documentation.
  5. Have support (if you pay for it!)
  6. Their forum for free-version users where some people is pretty active (like myself in Grid section).
  7. Being able to move to paying version as soon as I have the product finished and take full support and updates.
  8. Have access to their source code and being able to fix their bugs if they do not do it for me.
  9. Pretty fast start using it (take a look into this).

and I don’t like from KendoUI

  1. Documentation (I told you, it might be much better BUT it is much better that other equivalent UI).
  2. Lack of orthogonality and features that work for some widgets don’t work for others.
  3. Their forum for free-version users where admins are not as active as I would expect.
  4. Have access to their source code and have to fix their bugs if they do not do it for me. This is an advantage and a disadvantage because I have to check for changes every version and maybe have to redo the fixing (and I have a few done).
Leave a Reply

